Fact Sheet – Discrimination

The Equality Act 2010 harmonised and consolidated earlier discrimination laws so that all types of discrimination now come under the one Act.

The Equality Act 2010 prohibits less favourable treatment on certain grounds known as ‘protected characteristics’.

Protected Characteristics

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender Reassignment
  • Marriage and partnership
  • Pregnancy and Maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex or sexual orientation

Types of claims

Claims may be brought for direct discrimination, indirect discrimination and harassment. Equal pay claims also fall within the Equality Act 2010

Bringing a claim

Claims are brought in the Employment Tribunal normally within 3 months (less a day) of the act of discrimination or most recent act of discrimination where there is an on-going situation. Claims may be brought by employees and non- employees who are workers. There is no qualifying period of service. Claims can be brought whilst in employment and in some cases even before employment has begun


In most cases the remedy for discrimination is compensation, normally based on

  • Actual financial loss suffered
  • Injury to feelings award. This falls into 3 bands known as Vento bands and the amount is decided at the Tribunal’s discretion.

For more information contact Karen Bulfin at Bulfin & Co on 0208 866 0044 or by email: karen@bulfin.co.uk